OPERF Recognizes Ten Years of Award Winners

Home > Articles > OPERF Recognizes Ten Years of Award Winners

In recognition of its tenth anniversary, the Orthotic and Prosthetic Education and Research Foundation (OPERF) named each recipient of an OPERF award throughout its history. OPERF awards grants to promote O&P research with the goal of raising the standards of education and research in the profession. The foundation also assists students attending or entering O&P education programs by providing competitive grants and awards as they pursue careers as O&P professionals, faculty, or researchers.


Since OPERF's inception, nearly $500,000 in research and education grants and fellowships have been awarded, and OPERF-sponsored studies have produced 19 peer-reviewed publications and more than 40 conference presentations.


The awards and their recipients are as follows:


Tamarack Prize for Outstanding Contribution to Orthotic Science and Practice


The award, sponsored by Tamarack Habilitation Technologies, recognizes the critical importance of clinical research, design development, and education in the pursuit of improved patient outcomes.


2017       Jonathan Naft, CPO, LPO


2013       Thomas Gavin, CO


2011       Don Katz, CO, LO, FAAOP


2009       Gary Horton, CO, FAAOP


Carlton Fillauer Prize for Outstanding Contribution to Prosthetics Science and Practice


The award, sponsored by the Fillauer Companies, recognizes prosthetists who have actively engaged in clinical care, research, and publication.


2018       Shane R. Wurdeman, PhD, MSPO, CP, FAAOP


2016       Donald R. Cummings, CP, LP, FAAOP


2014       Phillip M. Stevens, MEd, CPO, FAAOP


OPERF/ABC Resident Travel Award


The award, with the American Board for Certification in Orthotics, Prosthetics and Pedorthics (ABC), supports O&P residents' travel to American Academy of Orthotists and Prosthetists (the Academy) Annual Meeting and Scientific Symposiums.


2017       Cassandra Delgado, CO


Sarah Hutchinson, CPO


Rachael Rosen, CO


2016       Kyle Barrons, CPO, MSOP


2015       Dana Schack, CP


Michael Socie


Tyler Klenow, MSOP, CPT-ACSM


2013       Beth Halsne, CPO


Marisa Berkowitz


2012       Abbey Meyer, LO


Megan Zachar, MSPO, CO


2011       Brock Sande, CP


John Frederick, CO/LO, BEP


2010       Richard Hunsaker


2009       Brian Ardnt


Small Grants Award


The award provides funding to support clinically relevant, investigator-initiated O&P research.


2018       Goeran Feidler


2017       Shannon Mathis, PhD


2016       Andrew B. Sawers, CPO, MSPO, PhD


2015       Elisa Arch, PhD


2014       Brian Hafner, PhD


Kim Seok Hun, PT, PhD


2012       Larissa Pavone, MD


Stefania Fatone, PhD, BPO (Hons)


2011       Kinsey Herrin, MSPO, LPO, CPO


Mark D. Geil, PhD


2010       Jason Wening, MS, CP, BEO


2009       Joan Sanders, PhD


Fellowship Award


The award is for students who are currently enrolled in a master's and/or PhD educational program.


2018       Kyle Leister


2017       Jessica Zistatsis, BS


2016       Gary Louis Wall, CFo, CPed


2015       Corin Shirley


2014       Sara Peterson, MS, CPO, FAAOP


2013       Erin Boutwell, MS


2012       Christopher Baschuk, BS


Shane Wurdeman, CP, MSPO


2010       Angelika Zissimopoulos, MS


Daniel Abrahamson, CPO


2009       Andrew Sawers, CPO


Sarah Koehler, MS


Education Awards Program


Educator Award


The award supports O&P educators who are pursuing advanced degrees.


2018       Daniel Lee, PT, DPT, GCS


Ashley Mullen, MSAT, CPO, LPO


2012    Sara Peterson, CPO, CFM, MBA, FAAOP;


Chris Hovorka, MS, CPO, LPO, FAAOP;


Nathan Sutti, CPO, CTPO, LPO


2011       Sara Peterson, MBA, CPO, CFM


2010       Christopher Hovorka, MS, CPO, LPO, FAAOP


Christopher Robinson, MBA, CPO, ATC


OPERF/ABC Student Award for Academic Achievement


This award, with ABC, supports O&P students.


2017       Sarah Cheever


Emily Chizmar


Rebecca Sari Cook


Kierra Falbo


Paco Galvan


Spencer Leckrone, BS


Maria Lesieutre


Ciera Price


Roger Rose


Jacalyn Sickels


Rebecca Frost


2016       David Ben Wright


David Boe


Chui-Miin Lee


Lonnica Johnson


Mark Tovar


Mitchell Himmel


Samatha Wright


Steven Ogi


Taylor Hildebrand


Zachary Block


2015       Alexander Carter


Ashley Muller


Cassandra Delgado


Christian Estoquia


Yonadav Diamond


Jonathan Peurach


Kara Smith


Kathleen Carroll


Mary Littrell


Nora Doyle


2014       Allison Cerutti


David Trevisan


Nicholas Sellas, CPed


Nina Bondre, BS


Scott Bretl


2013       Allison Farnham


Colin Ashmore


Connie Chien


Jeremy Migner


Matthew Manges


Shawna Kelly


Steven Francis


2012       Scott Thach, BSME


Timothy Kunz


Gloria Cho


Darren Bolger


Kyle Rasmussen


2011       Caniel Marler


Elizabeth Selgrade


Lisa Hufman

Allison Ruta

Christopher Baschuk

2010       Tyler Dunham

Chrysta Irolla

Seamus Lawler, CP

Patrick Stempski